The FDA announced that it has approved the influenza vaccine formulation for the 2011–2012 vaccine that will be used by six manufacturers. The brand names and manufacturers of the vaccines for the upcoming season are: Afluria (CSL Limited), Fluarix (GlaxoSmithKline), FluLaval (ID Biomedical Corporation and GlaxoSmithKline), FluMist (MedImmune), Fluvirin (Novartis), and Fluzone, Fluzone High-Dose and Fluzone Intradermal (Sanofi Pasteur).

The FDA, World Health Organization, CDC, and others in the public health community studied virus samples and patterns collected worldwide to identify virus strains likely to cause the most illness during the upcoming influenza season. Based on that information and the recommendations of the FDA’s Vaccines and Related Biological Products Advisory Committee, the strains selected for the 2011–2012 influenza season are:

  • A/California/7/09 (H1N1)-like virus (pandemic (H1N1) 2009 influenza virus)
  • A/Perth /16/2009 (H3N2)-like virus
  • B/Brisbane/60/2008-like virus

For more information about the CDC’s ACIP influenza vaccine recommendations visit