FDA approves 2008-2009 flu vaccines

The FDA has approved this season’s influenza vaccines to include new virus strains likely to cause flu in the United States during the 2008-2009 season. The six vaccines include: Afluria (from CSL Limited); Fluarix (from GlaxoSmithKline); FluLaval (from ID Biomedical); FluMist (from MedImmune); Fluvirin (from Novartis); and Fluzone (from sanofi pasteur).

This season’s vaccines contain three influenza virus strains that are most likely to cause the flu in the United States.Unlike previous years where typically only one or two virus strains are updated, the FDA changed all three strains for this year’s influenza vaccine.

For more information visit www.fda.gov/cber/flu/flu2008.htm.