CDC: 35 Ebola Treatment Centers Designated

(HealthDay News) — Thirty-five hospitals across the United States have been designated as Ebola treatment centers, and more will be designated in the coming weeks, the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention said Tuesday.

These centers have the staff, equipment, training, and resources to provide the complex treatment required to care for Ebola patients, while minimizing risk to health care workers, the agency said.

The agency also released guidance for hospitals and state health officials to use when selecting hospitals to be designated as Ebola treatment centers. The priority areas for Ebola treatment centers are regions served by the five international airports screening returning travelers for Ebola, cities with a high number of returning travelers from West Africa, and cities with large numbers of people from West Africa.

The 35 hospitals with Ebola treatment centers are: Kaiser Oakland Medical Center, Oakland, CA; Kaiser South Sacramento Medical Center, Sacramento, CA; University of California Davis Medical Center, Sacramento, CA; University of California San Francisco Medical Center; Emory University Hospital, Atlanta; Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago; Northwestern Memorial Hospital, Chicago; Rush University Medical Center, Chicago; University of Chicago Medical Center; Johns Hopkins Hospital, Baltimore; University of Maryland Medical Center, Baltimore; National Institutes of Health Clinical Center, Bethesda, MD; Allina Health’s Unity Hospital, Fridley, MN; Children’s Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota, St. Paul; Mayo Clinic Hospital, Minneapolis; University of Minnesota Medical Center, West Bank Campus, Minneapolis; Nebraska Medicine, Omaha; Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital, New Brunswick, NJ; North Shore System LIJ/Glen Cove Hospital, Glen Cove, NY; Montefiore Health System, New York City; New York-Presbyterian/Allen Hospital, New York City; NYC Health and Hospitals Corporation/HHC Bellevue Hospital Center, New York City; The Mount Sinai Hospital, New York City; Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia; Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia; University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston; Methodist Hospital System in collaboration with Parkland Hospital System and the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Richardson, TX; University of Virginia Medical Center, Charlottesville; Virginia Commonwealth University Medical Center, Richmond; Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin, Milwaukee; Froedtert & the Medical College of Wisconsin Froedtert Hospital, Milwaukee; UW Health University of Wisconsin Hospital, Madison, and the American Family Children’s Hospital, Madison; MedStar Washington Hospital Center, Washington, D.C.; Children’s National Medical Center, Washington, D.C.; George Washington University Hospital; Washington, D.C.

More Information