The FDA is advising patients be switched from chlorofluorocarbon (CFC)-propelled albuterol inhalers to hydrofluoroalkane (HFA)-propelled albuterol inhalers. CFC-propelled inhalers will no longer be available after December 31, 2008 due to their environmentally harmful effects on the ozone layer.

Three HFA-propelled albuterol inhalers have been approved by the FDA: Teva’s Proair HFA, Schering-Plough’s Proventil HFA, and GlaxoSmithKline’s Ventolin HFA. Additionally, HFA-propelled levalbuterol tartrate, an albuterol isomer, is available as Xopenex HFA (from Sepracor).

Albuterol inhalers are used to treat asthma and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease.

For more information visit

Continue Reading